Daniel Defoe (1660-1731)

Defoe was a novelist, pamphleteer, and novelist. His writings reflect his Puritan background. He was educated at Morton’s Academy at Newington Green. His first pamphlet The Shortest Way With the Dissenters appeared in 1702 and landed him in the pillory on account of its ironic attack on Dissenters. Defoe tried his hand by pursuing various professions but could not succeed. Between 1703 and 1714 he worked as a secret agent for the Tory government of Robert Harley, writing many anti-Jacobite pamphlets. He produced around 560 journals, tracts, and books, many of which were either published anonymously or pseudonymously. However, his reputation rests on his novels.

His works are:
(a) Robinson Crusoe: It is Defoe’s most famous novel which appeared in 1719. Some critics regard it as the first English novel or as something close to the modern novel. It is an exciting or adventurous tale.
(b) Captain Singleton (1720)
(c) Moll Flanders (1722)
(d) Roxana (1724)

(a) Duncan Campbell (1720)
(b) Memoirs of a Cavalier (1720)
(c) Colonel Jack (1722)
(d) Journal of the Plague Year (1722)
(e) The Political History of the Devil (1726) (f) Roxana (1724)
(g) A New Voyage Round the World (1725)
Defoe also wrote stories of thieves, pirates, and other
underground elements, chief of whom are :
(a) Jonathan Wild
(b) Captain Avery
His guide-book ‘A Tour through the Whole Island of Great Britain’ appeared in three volumes between 1924-

Leave a Comment